About Me · Pregnancy

“Fed is Best”

So my previous blogpost was about my battle with breast-feeding so I thought I’d give everyone an update of where I am in my breast feeding journey…

I’m going to get straight to the point – I’ve put Layton on formula milk full time and I’m currently wearing cabbage leaves in my bra to dry up my breast milk!

Layton is a reflux baby and I really couldn’t continue with breast feeding. After every single feed, Layton was projectile vomiting all of his milk back up and was immediately hundfrg again. I tried him on normal formula milk and he was bringing that back up as well and he struggles with his wind so feeding was just awful – we both weren’t enjoying it at all…

I’ve taken him to the doctors a few times and we’ve tried Gaviscon Infant Sachets which didn’t really make much of a difference so we’ve put him on Aptamil Reflux milk and he’s keeping the feeds down! Every now and again he’ll projectile vomit it back up but I put it down to the fact he’s a very very greedy baby and his little stomach has probably taken too much!

I was and still am really gutted to have given up on breast feeding but when your baby is blatantly not getting enough milk due to vomiting it back up – I couldn’t stand to see him crying when he was constantly hungry. My nipples became sore again – literally agony so I made the choice with my husband to fully formula him on the special milk…

There’s A LOT of pressure from both sides because I’ve had a lot of pressures advice to put Layton on formula because “you see how much they are getting”, “it’ll settle them better”, “formula babies sleep better”. BUT I’ve had a lot of pressured advice from breast feeding too “formula is poison”, “breast is best”, “breast is giving the best start”. I 100% agree that breast milk is the best possible start to a babies life BUT it’s not easy and it’s actually not for everyone…as long as your baby is getting fed and gaining weight – that’s the best! FED IS BEST!

2 thoughts on ““Fed is Best”

  1. I agree πŸ™‚ fed is best! I was lucky enough to be able to breastfeed for 9 weeks and we are now combination feeding as she just isn’t lasting more than an hour after each feed when I feed her myself. By the time I had winded her she’d be ready again and I didn’t even have time to brush my hair some days. Yet she will quite happily go four hours after a bottle and she is generally a much happier baby. Reflux is a horrible thing but he will definitely get over it πŸ™‚ xx

    Like

  2. I’m going through the exact same thing! Fin (10 weeks old) is sick when I feed him but not when he has his formula?! I only fed him once so far today but think that might of been the last time. I do feel sad but like you said ‘fed is best’ no matter how you do it. He is on cow and gate anti reflux milk and I think it just suits him so much better. it was great reading your blog and knowing there’s other people going through the same thing!enjoy every minute with Layton 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

